I’d rather be in bed

image

Just resting my eyes a bit. I’m so sleepy, my eyes are stinging.

Eehhh…. the dreaded cold is going around and has made its way into our home. It started with a sore throat and got better, then went away slightly, then reared its ugly head again a couple of days ago.
It started with my husband. He got the worst of it. He eventually went to the doctor and was diagnosed with a bacterial ear infection and sinus infection, plus conjunctivitis or better known as pink eye. Thank God, my daughter and I dodged that bullet!! My tot, got a slight cough just at night and one day of puking.

Last night, was the worst of it with a painful throat and congestive coughing, which lead to insufficient amount of sleep. Luckily, I am blessed to be working at the clinic and so far I have only had one patient. But I’d rather be at home, in bed with my homemade heat pack, and a movie to doze in and out of while breathing in the smells of my essential oils both on my skin and coming from my diffuser.

I think this, and my lifestyle, is why I didn’t get worst symptoms in the home. And I think that’s why my daughter barely got sick. My love of essential oils has saved my butt in the past and will continue to in the future. Health is definitely a rollercoaster. Everyone gets sick, even the healthiest of us, but the duration and the severity will be determined by how you treat yourself.

My top suggestions on how to boost the immune system

1. Sleep! Resting is the best way to fight stress and heal. Aim for 7-9 hours at night starting by 10pm at the latest.

2. Eat and drink clean. Food is fuel to our bodies. The more sugar and process, contaminated foods you eat, the quicker your immune system will be compromised. Our bodies are composed of 60% water, therefore, we need to maintain the amount of water that is being expelled by other body processes throughout the day (breathing, sweating, urinating, defecating, etc.)

3. Therapeutic essential oils. The only brand I trust in my home is with Young Living. These are the only oils on the market that come from our own farms, which we can go visit during harvest if a member of the company. On the other hand, other companies may claim 100% therapeutic grade ois, yet 1. we don’t know how they were grown 2. may contain substances other than the pure oil 3. don’t have the Seed to Seal guarantee. Click here to order your own oils or contact me to learn more.

4.  Breathe in the fresh air. This is so important and is too easily forgotten during the winter. We are continually cooped up in the dirty, germ-y air due to the excuse of it being too cold outside. Our lungs depend on fresh, circulating air to support a healthy body. I try to get at least a 10 minute walk every day to get some air, which helps to get movement into my day as well. Plus, I sleep with the window open as much as possible, even when its crazy cold outside.

5. Once the cold has made its way into your home, eat as light as possible! I am not the greatest at this. I think if I would have followed this rule, I wouldn’t still be sick. Great things to add in for “meals” would be bone broth, fermented veggies (great for vitamin C), herbal teas, very small meals that are warm and cooked. I’d also recommend not eating meat or raw foods during your cold because they are a lot harder to process. Add in chopped garlic is beneficial for the immune system also. Chop it up as small as you can, let it sit for about 5 minutes for stronger potency and chase it down with some water.

Has the cold made its way into your home this year? If so, how did you handle it? If you’re lucky enough to not have gotten it, what are your secrets to staying cold-free?

Want to learn more tips on how to stay healthy and energized? Sign up for my newsletter for local classes, health coaching from any where, and recipes and blog posts.

Leave a Reply

