How is it February!?

I sure hope your day was as wonderful as mine was yesterday!! Even though I woke up earlier than I hoped, my morning started with abdominal exercises to get rid of my mommy belly (diastasis recti). Click here to watch and participate I this awesome workout. Then, my best bud and I went for a long walk in the gorgeous weather! She lives about a 10 minute walk from me and by the time we were finished, we were sweating and hungry. Thankfully, my awesome husband made a delicious omelet (paired with homemade fermented veggies), which was still warm and ready to eat when we returned from our 2.5 mile walk around the neighborhood. Not only was our walk a great time to catch up and bask in each other’s company while being surrounded by warmth and sun, we saw some pretty interesting things. We saw a number of other people enjoying the outdoors but we also saw a low rider truck peel off with an enormous amount of smoke pour out of his windows, which I missed but made my comrade laugh. Then, a minute later, we saw a large cat just hanging out on the dashboard of a van…above the steering wheel… of a moving car!! This we both saw, fortunately. Unfortunately, we weren’t quick enough to catch a photo. We pretty much laughed the whole way home. It’s not every day you see a cat just chilling out in a vehicle like that.

After the delicious breakfast, I got ready for my day. I took a quick shower, blew out my hair and did something I rarely do- put on mascara. I save makeup for special occasions. So, why the special occasion? I am proud to say, that I had the honor of teaching a class on how to increase energy and decrease stress for a great group of people for the National Guard. I cannot say how lucky and grateful I feel to have had the opportunity to speak to this group!

Why is this topic so important? Well think about a day that you felt so tired, you couldn’t motivate yourself to get out of bed or off the couch, yet people around you are having fun running around and playing together (I have a 2 year old so this is my example) and you’d love to join but just can’t find the energy. If this happens on occasion, it’s not that big of a deal, right? Yet, to encounter this day after day, it starts to take a toll on your relationships, your self esteem, mood, stress, etc. On top of those awful symptoms, high levels of stress can lead to some of the leading causes of morbidity and mortality. This includes cancer, heart disease, diabetes (2&3-Alzheimer’s), gastrointestinal issues, and so on. The class goes more in detail and I go over some awesome steps to decrease the risk of stress related issues.

Some examples include conscious breathing, healthy eating, and improved quantity of sleep. I will be teaching this class again March 17 at 7 pm. If you’re interested in learning more, come join me by signing up here.

After my talk at the guards, I got to spend some time with my husband while we watched the new series on Hulu 11.22.63. My husband read the book by Stephan King and he seems to enjoy it, even though it’s not spot on from the book. So far it’s pretty intriguing. And it has mr eye candy, James Franco as the lead character 🙂

Shortly after, my daughter woke up from her long nap and we walked to the park and watched her play with other children. They took turns on the slide, and she accomplished going down the really steep slide all by herself and finished out the visit on the swings. We laughed and played and were silly all the way home. My hubbs made some yummy turkey avocado burgers on the grill for our dinner before the crazy wind rolled in and it had just started to lightly sprinkle. I added steamed asparagus and greens to the meal, plus my fermented veggies like usual (gotta feed the good bacteria in the gut! I’m also, teaching a group cooking class which includes some fermented foods. Click here to learn more).

image

The fermented sourdough kasha bread. Learn how to make it with me on March 10. (See link above)

We decided to cuddle on the couch and watch a video together while drinking tea. Then it was off to bed.

My days are usually pretty awesome, but that was an exceptional day! It’s gotta be, when it’s the middle of February and the temperatures hit 71°.

Do any of you remember a day that was absolutely remarkable? If so, if love to hear your day!

 

Leave a Reply

