Buh bye, cell phone!

cellphoneWe’ve all heard the potential dangers with use of the oh-so-popular gadget, the cell phone, yet for some reason, probably addiction, I couldn’t completely let go of it. This was until I saw another article regarding the safety of cell phone use. In this article, it shows the amount of radiation emitted with 5 different cell phones. If you look at the video it included, you will see most of the cell phones they tested, weren’t ones that are very common- at least where I live. I was surprised they didn’t include the rating for the popular, iPhone 6, until I realized this article was written in 2014. Curious, I looked it up, because this is the phone that my husband and I both use. Can you guess how it scored? (keep reading…)

The “safe” level is supposedly <1.6 watts/kg SAR (specific absorption rate) according to the FCC. I decided to look up the top 5 most popular cellphones and decided to research this “safe” number. When doing so, I found this website and noticed that it gave a bunch of specs yet no SAR number and wondered, why don’t they just include this SAR number when someone looks for a new cell phone every time, like they do with the screen size or how many mega pixels the camera has. Doing a google search for each phone, I was able to find the number tested in regards to the SAR on the head, body (if you wear you cell phone around- don’t do this, please), and some included multiple types of transmissions rating (when you run wi-fi, while using your phone to talk, etc).

“FCC measured SAR – Working closely with federal health and safety agencies, such as the Food and Drug Administration (FDA), the FCC has adopted limits for safe exposure to radiofrequency (RF) energy. These limits are given in terms of a unit referred to as the Specific Absorption Rate (SAR), which is a measure of the amount of radio frequency energy absorbed by the body when using a mobile phone. The FCC requires cell phone manufacturers to ensure that their phones comply with these objective limits for safe exposure. Any cell phone at or below these SAR levels (that is, any phone legally sold in the U.S.) is a “safe” phone, as measured by these standards. The FCC limit for public exposure from cellular telephones is an SAR level of 1.6 watts per kilogram (1.6 W/kg).”

Here is my list of the top 5 popular cell phones

5. Samsung Galaxy S5  1.2w/kg (head) 1.58w/kg (body) – on this webiste, it showed that these levels were drastically lower in the European phones, which makes me wonder… These are the levels for Europe 0.56 W/kg (head) / 0.41 W/kg (body). That seems like a huge differnce to me, which makes me believe some reasons these numbers are higher here in the US, is what Dr. Mercola listed in one of his articles that states…

“Manufacturers and industry leaders who either hide or debunk unfavorable study results and continue to promote their products despite awareness of the significant dangers to public health…

Government conflict of interest created by lobbies for both industries and revenues collected from use taxes”

4. HTC One M8 SAR Value  0.83 W/kg (head) / 1.17 W/kg (body)

3. BlackBerry Priv 1.05 W/kg (head) /1.15 W/kg (body) / 1.53 W/kg /(simultaneous transmission)

2. iPhone 6  1.18 W/kg (Head) / For the body the SAR level is 1.18 also, as long as the distance between the user is greater than 5mm, which I’m sure is how all of the body transmissions are recorded / 1.59 (simultaneous transmission)

1. Microsoft Lumia 950 0.58 W/kg (body) / 0.47 W/kg (head), So far this seems to be the winner when it comes to lowest, but even with the lowest number, is this really very safe?

So why is this important? Along with increased risk of brain cancer, fatigue, osteoporosis, headaches, and more, in my life, I’ve noticed the impact it has on relationships also. Yes, it’s a phone so it allows us to contact those you love, but so does a good ‘ol land line phone. The only diffrence in this area, are all of the distractions included on an average cell phone these days. This article here states the outcome of a large scale investigation on cellphone usage and brain cancer.

Even with all of the health risks, whether speculation or not, I am going to try an experiment to hopefully get rid of the new “mans best friend”, the cell phone because I have noticed that my time gets sucked up very easily when it’s near. Time goes too fast, especially when you’re a parent, and I know that I’m distracted if it’s in hand and my daughter is around. Before I start this experiment though, there are some things I need to line up. I don’t think going cold turkey on this would work, for me anyway. Here are the things I need to do…

Prep to Getting rid of my time sucking, cell phone:

  1. Set up another way of communication. I have looked at the options for doing a VoIP service and right now, I’m thinking of going with magic jack. For this service it’s $5.83 a month for the first year (this includes the device, shipping and so forth) and then $3/month after. When comparing this to my cell phone bill it’s going to save me $52/month or $624 a year! However, you need to have wi-fi connection to use this service. This means, I will still have some radiation exposure to use this. However, I’m going to be decreasing mine AND my daughters exposure because I won’t be carrying around a cell phone constantly and exposing us both. So we well be better off in the long run.
  2. Lug around my camera. The camera my family has is the Cannon Rebel, so it’s a lot bulkier than the slender iPhone, but this is necessary to capture my ever growing tot!
  3. I am a good texter- so to combat this, I have created a Google Voice account, which allows you to use it for free texts and calls in the USA. You have some choice in choosing your number, also! To make a call, you just need a headset and your computer (with internet access, of course) and to text, just need the computer. I have already tested this out and it works great for text. That being said, I will only check this a number of times a day to respond to any one I missed, making it a bit less convient to get a hold of me, which is kind of exciting! And a bit nerve wracking. Damn addictions!
  4. Buy a corded phone. This is only necessary if you are determined to lower your exposure to electromagnetic radiation (otherwise, you can buy a cordless phone) and if I decide to sign up with a land line or VoIP service, which I may just try out Google Voice to start.
  5. Use my calandar instead of relying on my e-calandar online. I already own one and I tend to write all of my appointments in my pocket planner already, so this one shouldn’t be tough.
  6. Write all of my favorite peep’s phone numbers down and let them know how to contact me.
  7. Wear a watch- this one will be tough. I don’t really like wearing jewelery or anything like that, but I have a watch already- just need to replace the battery.
  8. Turn off my cell, keep out of reach and in my purse for emergencies only. This is a must so that I am not tempted to use it. I’ve already looked into options for getting out of my contract through my cell phone carrier and will get a prepaid cell phone if this experiment is sucessful. Having a cell phone while traveling is a must for me as a mom.

I will update this at the end of 30 days and I will be starting this on Saturday, March 5. For any of you readers that may need to call me, for now I have the Google Voice set up. You can call or text me at (605) 388-2111. If I don’t answer the call, please leave a message and I will return the call ASAP.

Other resources:

http://www.saferemr.com/2016/03/welcome-to-emr-safety.html

http://www.ewg.org/cell-phone-radiation-affects-brain-function

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/02/09/powerful-and-simple-tips-to-help-lower-your-emf-risks.aspx

http://www.globalresearch.ca/student-science-experiment-finds-plants-wont-grow-near-wi-fi-

router/5336877http://www.saferemr.com/2014/09/iphone-6-sar-radiation-levels-and.html

http://www.pewinternet.org/2012/11/30/part-iii-the-impact-of-mobile-phones-on-peoples-lives/

http://articles.mercola.com/sites/articles/archive/2011/02/09/powerful-and-simple-tips-to-help-lower-your-emf-risks.aspx

http://www.ewg.org/cell-phone-radiation-affects-brain-function

Leave a Reply

