Our Legacy

Hey folks! What are you thinking of this heat!? I’m LOVING it!! Being outside in the beautiful Black Hills is one of my favorite things to do! As my daughter gets older, the trips have been more frequent and easier. Last week we went to the Rock Maze. It’s a natural maze created from the large rocks separating. I’ve lived in the Black Hills off and on for the last 11 years and I gotta say, this is one of my favorite places! Just when you think you have reached the end of the maze, you turn a corner and there’s another crevice to explore. Unfortunately, we noticed how disrespected this area was treated. My daughter was playing in some sand and we noticed she was sitting on broken glass! I don’t understand a persons logic to destroy things. I can’t describe how pissed off this makes me! Growing up we were always instructed to pack out what you brought in. Yet, this seems to be commonplace to find rubbish amidst the beauty of the outdoors.

Which brings me to something that I’m very passionate and excited to share with you all. Not only does visible trash get bombarded in nature, but we are also getting massive amounts of things we aren’t seeing taint our beautiful cities and urban areas. What I’m referring to are chemicals and pesticides that leak into our ground water contaminating our drinking water, food, and environment. The exciting things is, creator of Mom’s Across America, Zen Honeycutt has decided to come to our beautiful city to speak with anyone interested in learning how to clean it up! I’ve been following this group for a couple of years now and have always wanted to get a group of people together to get us cleaned up around here!

Before settling down with a child and mortgage, my husband and I lived in Oregon for two years and as much as I love living here, I miss the things that made my life easier out there. For example, the fact that you can’t really go out any where here and feel confident that the meal you are about to consume, not only feed yourself, but your growing and delicate child, is not swimming in chemicals and/or tortured. The hardest thing to see are children who are being fed GMO laden foods that make them and their parents more sick, less energized, and more pat to the top leading diseases. The fact that you walk outside and see companies like TruGreen spraying green colored toxins on my neighbors yards and God knows what else.

I remember when I was in grade school how often we were taught about the importance of recycling and keeping our environment clean for future generations. Each of my classmates would compete in creating the most impactful sign to get the word out about loving our planet. What happened to those inspired/inspiring kids in each of us? Where did we go wrong to stop caring for the world we live in and the future of our children? Our legacy should be to leave this planet in a better state than when we came in. All hope is not lost. We have the power to create a change and become inspired/inspiring again! Let’s do this together for us and our children!

Come meet us and Zen Honeycutt on Saturday, June 25 at 2pm. If the weather is favorable we will be at Robbinsdale Park off of Oakland Street, Rapid City, SD. If it’s raining/storming we will meet at a local coffee shop TBD.

image

Shocking and Sad Facts from Panna.org/kids

  • Children absorb more pesticides/chemicals than adults do because of their permeable skin and inhale more air than adults. Also, for the first 6 months of life their blood/brain barrier is forming so are more prone to problems.
    • 400k-600k of the 4 million children born each year have learning disabilities and disorders
    • Autism has increased between 250-375% since 1997
    • Cancer has increased between 25-50% in children since 1975
    • Asthma has more than tripled since 1980s

 

Inspiring resources:

http://www.panna.org/publication/generation-in-jeopardy

http://www.momsacrossamerica.com/diet_home_and_garden

Leave a Reply

