“Whisper words of wisdom, let it be…”

Ahhhh, I absolutely love that song by The Beatles! Two weeks ago when I went to church, The Agape Spiritual Center, this was the message. Let it be, when things aren’t going the way you planned or hoped, instead of getting upset or frustrated to stop and reflect and reevaluate. This message, even though I’d been working on this to just let things go and let it be, seemed to stick with me finally because they accompanied it with the song, “Let It Be”. Not that I have this perfected yet, I work through the cycle of 1.something didn’t go as planned, 2. get frustrated, 3. dwell on it for far too long, 4. then, finally let it go and reevaluate and breathe, yet now, the cycle goes a lot faster because I start singing the song shortly after the mishap. What power a song has! I love singing. So this works well for me. I recently noticed, on Monday, how GOOD I feel when I belt out a song and I hit all the right notes. I was driving to work after dropping off my little open at daycare I started singing a John Lennon song, “Imagine” and when I was done I felt great happiness and fulfillment and strength. Just from singing!

This message leads me to my inspiration for this weeks post. I actually had something  else written to almost it’s entirety all I needed was to finish a recipe to add in, so that will be for another week. Then, my new motto was tested. It all started when I visited my mama friend last week for a play date and we got on the discussion of food. She’s an amazing mother and tends to battle with letting things go when it comes to certain way to bring up her daughters, like food, for example. She was very strict about what foods her first daughter was introduced to her during her first years of life, but has recently been more relaxed and has been able to let it be a bit more and stated she really tries to stick to the 80/20 rule of making sure the majority of the food her kiddo is getting is super clean. This was also something I continue to struggle with. I don’t want my daughter to feel deprived, yet I know the dangerous ingredients use to make “food” and I know how sensitive a child’s body is compared to an adult when it comes into contact with these poisons. We even joked about how we wish sometimes we were more ignorant to such knowledge. Obviously, that wasn’t true and we came to the decision that we wish we could just relax a bit and not feel guilty about backsliding a tiny bit every once in a while when it came to their diet, like on special occasions. Which I have done a couple of times in the past with my kiddo. Like last summer, I let my tot eat a s’more with… Get this… A gluten filled graham cracker AND sugary chocolate AND marshmallow!! (All of these were organic.) My dad actually said he was proud of me for letting Genevieve have sugar!!
Then, we went to my in-laws for a birthday celebration this past weekend. All of my tots cousins were eating saltines crackers and I was kind of all over the place talking with other guests and at one point I noticed my kiddo holding the bag of crackers. I stood and watched her for a second to see if she’d eat one but I was proudly surprised when she just held the bag and asked one of her cousins if they wanted a cracker. I decided I would let her make the decision of eating one without me watching her. Later, I asked her if she ate any crackers and she replied that she didn’t and she was hungry. That was huge for me! Before, I probably would have gone over and asked her to hand over the crackers so she wouldn’t be tempted.
A couple of days later, I did a small Master Cleanse and had started to crave a dairy topped, non-organic, “none friendly to Tarin” pizza from Dominos with pineapple and pepperoni. When I got home from my other job, I voiced this to my husband and he pounced on the opportunity! Instead of getting Dominos, because we don’t like their company or its unclean ingredients, we opted for a “healthier” choice of a gluten-free crust pizza with dairy topped cheese and BBQ sauce, pepperoni and pineapple and bacon bits for myself and our daughter and he chose a baked potato pizza from The Independent Ale house. We haven’t eaten out in a very long time and I decided to incorporate my new mantra, to let it be, and let us all enjoy this treat without guilt or anything. We all really enjoyed our meal, while we ate outside and joked and savored our meal, okay I savored the meal and I am safe to say, I think our kiddo did too, but my husband inhaled his pizza (someday, I hope that he can encorporate actually chewing his food… There I go not letting it be). Well after dinner, my other half decided to get ice cream and taking advantage of my “weakness” we all ran to the co-op to get ice cream. When we were there, that’s when I noticed my daughters reaction to the pizza. She was all over the place, not listening, and it felt like I had a child with ADHD. I pointed it out to my husband and he blew it off and didn’t really see a connection. This led me to think I was just over reacting.
The next day, I got to enjoy the day hanging out with my daughter. We went to the park and then the library and then home for lunch. We had two pieces of pizza left over from the night before and having already starting to feel a pimple emerge from under my skin from the dairy, I decided to let my tot eat the rest for lunch with some fermented veggies since she can handle dairy foods. That’s when I knew her meal was not serving her, or me for that matter. The following reactions scared the shit of me! Usually, my kiddo is ready for a nap shortly after lunch. Our routine is lunch, potty, two or three books, then sleep. It’s not always easy to get her to sleep and gentle reminders of laying down and to whisper or lay her baby doll down, because it’s not play time usually go over well and she is asleep shortly after. But not this day. It took more than two hours to get my daughter down for her nap. She was combative, screaming, crying, hitting, erratic movement, and a lot of non-compliance. Again, I felt like my child was ADHD. I’d use the regular reminders and she’d freak out and tell me to go away. She was biting her doll and unable to put it down. She was kicking her legs all around. I’d tell her to lay down or that I would pick her up and cuddle with her if she wouldn’t comply, which I tried multiple times and then get hit or kicked and yelled at. The food turned her into a child I didn’t recognize. It was devastating, draining, and scary! Finally, I resorted to putting her in her carrier and I rocked her for a while. One time she freaked out and jammed her head up into my chin but shortly after she finally relaxed and said she was cold. I took her out and cuddled with her to sleep. Finally, after over two hours she slept… for only 45 minutes! (Usually her naps are between an hour and a half to 2 and a half hours long) I couldn’t believe what I just witnessed! Then, I felt sad for all of the children who eat that stuff every day and how frustrated their parents get, which may lead to aggressive discipline and worse, medication.
What an eye-opening experience! What a huge learning experience! Instead of beating myself up for allowing this to happen by letting my child eat this toxic food, it has taught me to reflect and know that this wasn’t something to dwell on, but rather embrace and be grateful for the knowledge. Ignorance isn’t bliss, it’s dangerous! In the future, I will allow deviations from our diet now and again, but I will do it with food I know is safer and watch for signs of bad reactions. This pizza reaction makes me highly suspicious there are excitotoxins, AKA MSG, in the pizza she ate. I don’t ever want to experience this again for my daughter’s sake. If you click on the excitotoxin link, it will confirm that ingestion can lead to ADHD among other things like migraines to fatal reactions. This article states the dangerous effects as well… Anyone hungry for Chinese? This kind of food, although it’s not the only guilty type of restaurant since it’s really in nearly every fast food or restaurant, is thick in MSG to enhance flavor.
Pizza is one of my favorite foods. Here are my healthier version options.
1. Daiya Pizza – this is my quick option. It’s a gluten-free, dairy free boxed pizza. You can find them at Breadroot Co-op here locally. If not local, try a health food store. I don’t shop at Wal-Mart or the like, so I’m not sure if they are available there.
2. Blaze Pizza- this business is local and if I don’t want to start my oven they are app other gluten-free and dairy free option. Their meat isn’t consciously raised, however, and I’m not sure if they have MSG in their ingredients somewhere. Click here to see the long list of hidden MSG.
3. Home-made pizza- now this option takes a bit of time, but I know exactly what goes into it and the most important ingredient is vitamin L, which stands for love. This ingredient is almost non-existent in the restaurant world (have you ever worked in a kitchen? People are yelling and throwing things, which doesn’t convey love).
  • My favorite Pizza crust (gluten-free, vegan, AIP friendly) Click here for the recipe flatbread
  • Top with your favorite cheese and toppings
  • I try to stay away from nightshades (tomatoes, potatoes, peppers,etc.) so I use NoMato Sauce and add garlic and Italian seasoning to it
nomato sauce
Resources:
Leave a Reply

