Here are my summer drinks, what are your favorites?

I don’t know about you, but whenever the summer heat starts to set in, I start to crave nights eating out on a patio accompanied by a slushy, yummy drink. Well, with all of our adoption appointments it was necessary to have labs done to confirm that I’m a super duper healthy and functioning mama! Unfortunately, I forgot that when I went to the doctor appointment for my physical, that they would run labs. Earlier that morning, I decided to take some black walnut hull, which is wonderful at killing parasites. Being a tincture, it was in an alcohol base, which caused my labs to show elevated LFTs (liver function tests). When the nurse called to tell me this, I started to freak out a bit. How the hell were my LFT’s elevated! I’m super healthy! Then, all these different thoughts started running through my head about how strict I am with the foods I eat and how can others eat crappy but are “healthy”.

Well a couple of days later, I finally remembered that I took the tincture. I called immediately, to tell them I know this had to be the reason why my liver tests came back elevated. The doctor confirmed that this was probably the case and to re-do my labs whenever I wanted. The next week my tot and I drove down to the lab to get another draw. Thankfully, my labs all came down but there was one that was still a tad elevated. Honestly, I’m not worried. I know I have a lot on my plate right now and stress can mess with the liver. However, since my health needs to show absolute perfection for my adoption, I went back a few weeks later to get labs done to make sure it’s back down to normal levels and to my delight they are totally fine!

Getting back to the heat and yummy drinks… I was informed to absolutely drink no alcohol or aspirin and to stay off some of the herbal teas/pills I have been using, which I haven’t really been strict on the latter because I don’t do any harsh herbs (minus the black walnut hull on rare occasions). What to do, when all I want to do is drink some froofy drinks? Well, I headed over to my favorite app on my iPad, Pinterest, and decided to find some inspiration for non-alcoholic deliciousness in a glass!

Here are some of my favorite non-alcoholic summer inspired drinks:

  1. Simple Soda – Sparkling water, 4 drops of Orange essential oil (I only trust this brand, especially for ingestion), liquid Stevia to taste
  2. Piña Colada image
  3. Strawberry Daiquiri
  4. Arnold Palmer– half lemonade and half tea (you can do any type of tea- my favorites are peppermint, rosehip and nettles, licorice, etc)
  5. Virgin Mojito (aka. Nojito)  image

What are your favorite summer drinks?

Leave a Reply

