There’s definitely such a thing as too much of a good thing

I hope you all enjoyed the Fourth of July holiday and were safe! I had the blessing of having my mom come for a visit to both help when our baby sitter went on vacation and for the enjoyment of bonding with my mom. It was so nice having her here! She is such a great help with my daughter and I am really looking forward to next summer, as she will be moving here for good!

Unfortunately, I over indulged during her stay. I recently did the elimination diet and I was feeling so good! I was experiencing more energy, I lost some fat around my belly, my skin looked amazing, I didn’t have any food cravings, my wrist pain went away. All and all I was feeling awesome! Yet, I decided to eat whatever (even dairy, which is a big no no for me) and I’m paying for it. Now, all of those things I had gotten rid of are back! There is good news though, my experience has empowered me to know that I can get back there and my mom and my sister (possibly even my husband) have decided to do the Master Cleanse with me starting next week and after, I’m going back on the elimination diet. I should also mention, I recently did an IgG food sensitivity blood test and was shocked that when I got it back, none of the 94 foods tested showed up even close to reactive. This just confirms that those tests aren’t very accurate because I absolutely know my reaction to eggs is high after doing the elimination diet. But anyway, back to my story about my moms stay…

When I was around three years old, my moms grandma,or grandma Johnson, would throw me little tea parties. She would bake me peanut butter cookies and we would sit down and enjoy them together. This was one thing my mom had been looking forward to do with my daughter even before I was out of high school! When I became pregnant, my mom was on a mission and bought multiple tea sets and to her luck, we had a little girl. (Not saying she wouldn’t have continued this tradition of we had a boy instead.)

My little one is finally at the age that she can start this bonding experience with her grammy and that’s exactly what they did on one of the days I had to work. I found a healthy recipe for oatmeal raisin cookies (recipe below) and they baked them together. Then after her nap, they sat down at our table to experience this beautiful time together. Thankfully, my husband was home to capture the pictures of this event. And when I got home from work they were still at the table finishing up. I loved that around the table, her stuffed animals were sitting on chairs with little plates for their cookies too. I grabbed a cookie and tea and was happily enjoying not only the delicious cookie, but the joyous tradition my mother has passed on to my child.

What beautiful traditions have you had and passed on in your family?

Oatmeal Raisin Cookies

1 cup GF oats

1 cup oat flour

1/4 cup coconut oil (melted)

1/8 cup raw, local honey

1/2 tsp green herb stevia

2 tsp cinnamon

1/2 cup raisins

pinch of salt

Mix all ingredients in a bowl. Add small amount of water if too dry. Bake at 350 degrees F for 10-15 minutes.

One thought on “There’s definitely such a thing as too much of a good thing

Leave a Reply

