Work it, work it good!

Howdy, friends!! How has your week been? For me, it’s been pretty awesome, so far! If you read my post from last week, then you may know that I have started the Master Cleanse and it’s going great! So far I have lost 6 pounds. My mom started the same day as me and has lost 5 as of Tuesday. But what I wanted to write about today is working out, I know, I know, those are some dirty words to some, however, I have to share my experience with something I’ve started. Plus, I’ve included a delicious after workout smoothie bowl recipe (below).

It’s called Metabolic Aftershock, which uses interval training. Now, don’t get me wrong, I’m the kind of person who dreads a strict and lengthy and tough workout. I’ve done workouts like P90X and I couldn’t even make it 5 minutes in before I was done and this is so much better! I’m also, the type of person who starts a new work out and I do great for a week or two and then I’m either bored or make some excuse to not do it anymore. This has been the exact opposite! I am actually looking forward to my next day of working out and I just worked out this morning!

The Reasons This Workout Works Out for Me

  1. Time: First, being a busy mom, I don’t have a lot of time to dedicate to working out so this works great for me. Why? It’s only 15 minutes for 3 days a week!
  2. Allows for Rest: You work hard, and then you rest whenever you need for however long you need to get the best workout
  3. Results: Afterward, the workout speeds up your metabolism and allows fat burn for 24-48 hours!
  4. Price: For three discs it was less than $40! That’s way cheaper than joining a gym and along with the discs you get online access so you can do it anywhere! Plus, they do a free trial so if you absolutely hate it, you can get your money back and no harm, no foul.

Now, like I said before, I usually throw in the workout towel after a week or two tops, but I have been doing this now for almost 3 months! I feel stronger and have been sleeping so well since I started doing this!

I know the website and stuff may come off a bit cheesy, but you get 90 days to try it and if you don’t like it just send it back. Click here to learn more.

Super Delicious Smoothie Bowl – Adapted from MinimalistBaker
2 servings (if needed, you may freeze or store in an airtight jar for 24 hours)
Ingredients:
SMOOTHIE
  • 1/4 ripe avocado or Coconut Oil
  • 1-2 medium ripe bananas (fermented if possible-see below to learn how)
  • 1 cup fresh or frozen mixed berries (organic when possible) – use strawberries/raspberries for a greener smoothie, darker berries for a purple smoothie
  • 2 large handfuls steamed spinach, Swiss chard or kale (organic when possible)
  • 1 medium carrot (scrubbed and ends cut off)
  • 1 small handful red and green lettuce (organic when possible)
  • 1 1/2 – 2 cups unsweetened non-dairy milk or water kefir
  • 1-2 Tbsp chia seed
  • dash of sea salt
  • Optional: 2 Tbsp creamy almond or other nut/seed butter
TOPPINGS
  • Pumpkin or sunflower seeds
  • Granola
  • Nut/seed butter
  • Raw or roasted nuts (almonds, pecans, walnuts, etc.)
  • Shredded unsweetened coconut
  • Fresh berries
  • Hemp seeds
Instructions
  1. Steam greens, not lettuce, for a couple of minutes (should be pretty deep green, I like to steam a lot of greens and then freeze for smoothies later. You don’t want to eat a lot of raw greens because of their goitrogenic properties). Add smoothie ingredients to a blender and blend until desired texture. Add more almond milk (or water) to thin to desired consistency. I like mine a little thick.
  2. If needed, add pinch of green herb stevia for added sweetness.
  3. For the green smoothie, use strawberries (lets the green color come through more) or for a purple bowl used darker berries (raspberries, blackberries, blueberries).
  4. For more protein, add nut butter, which will offset the natural sweetness of the smoothie.
  5. After splitting the blended smoothie into two bowls, top with toppings. I like to do this to help remind me to chew, plus it makes it taste even yummier!
Notes:
* Recipe adapted from Minimalist Baker and  Favorite Green Smoothie.

*Links may contain affiliations, but only because I absolutely trust and believe in a company do I make recommendations. I will never post something or recommend something that I wouldn’t do or recommend to my loved ones and therefore, you as well.

 

Leave a Reply

