Grateful

What a week, what a week! Last Friday, we were supposed to draw for our raffle for our adoption fundraiser, but we had a lot more tickets we needed to sell and one of my helpers mailed their tickets back to me and I didn’t receive them on time. Therefore, we extended the drawing to this Saturday. What a good idea that was! We have sold a lot enough to meet our home study goal! Yay! Speaking of, we did our home study on Thursday and it went awesome! Starting to feel real!

Before we met our goal (which we were able to meet today – thank you so much for those of you who made this possible) and because we were trying to sell tickets, I decided that I would ask my favorite store, The Breadroot Co-op, yes my favorite store is for food. I asked if they would take me in for an hour or so to try and sell more tickest to their patrons. While this venture wasn’t a big success (only sold one ticket and was graciously given a $20 donation) I was able to stop for a minute and just watch people come and shop through the store.

I was pleasantly surprised at the variety of people, not just gender, but young and old and different ethnic backgrounds. I don’t pay attention most of the time when I’m out shopping to the culture variety of other people in my community. I’m the type of shopper that tends to make lists (or I’ll forget everything that is needed) and get in and out as fast as possible. I’m not a shopper! So three nights ago when I was camped out in the Co-Op, I not only got to see my diverse community members, but those with similar interests in terms of eating choices, anyway.

imageOur shopping list. We write things we need as we go and then take a pic of it before we head to the store.

The majority of the things I noticed in their hands, were drinks. It was a super hot day that day (I think it got up to 102F) so it made sense that a cold beverage was selected for almost each customer I saw. It was so hopeful, though, to see all of the people choosing to buy good ‘ol clean foods! And I was only there for an hour and a half. I know the rare occurrences I am in Safeway or a different grocery store I’m appalled by what I see in shopping cart after shopping cart. Here though, I saw an elderly man buy farm fresh eggs and veggies, and a man with down syndrome in his late fifties buy an assortment of foods to bring home. There was a grandmother with her granddaughter and a couple of girl friends and I saw fathers bring in their toddlers, ultimately teaching them how important it is to eat non-GMO, organic raised foods. That’s one of the most important things we can teach our children. They are the future and they need to know how to navigate this confusing world of food. So high fives and big hugs to all of you teachers to young and old on how we can protect the health of ourselves and of the environment by making conscious decisions on how to vote with our dollar every time that we buy food.

My Top Ten List of foods to buy from the Co-Op

1. Local, organic produce (usually greens, and root veggies like carrots, beets, radishes)
2. Loose leaf tea, my favorites are licorice root, nettles, peppermint, marshmallow root
3. Raw nuts and seeds (then I soak and sprout them at home and sometimes add seasonings)
4. Grass fed, organic meats
5. Sparkling water so I can make my own soda (three drops of liquid stevia, squeeze of lime and the water)
6. Daiya shredded cheese and their pizza
7. Jackson’s Sweet Potato chips– three ingredient chips sweet potatoes, coconut oil, and sea salt!
8. Mochi– I put them in a waffle iron for a quick breakfast
9. Rice cakes – top em with nut/seed butter, coconut oil and cinnamon, or eat em plain
10. Lily’s stevia sweetened chocolate – no sugar chocolate! Yes please!

Any of you agree with my choices? If not, what are your favorites? I’d love to hear them!

Leave a Reply

