We’re going on a trip!

This weekend is going to be epic!

First, it’s the first time that I will be away from my family (daughter and husband) for an extended period of time… 3 whole days I get to be me! And second, it’s a girl weekend with my best bud! This weekend,  I don’t have to be a mom, not a wife, just me! I’m so excited! I’m not saying that it won’t be hard being away, I’m going to miss those two adorable faces like crazy. I won’t have to worry about anything though, except me. For this busy mama, that is something that I’ve been looking forward to the last few years. I nursed my little one until she was almost 2 1/2 so even an overnight at her grandma’s house was pretty rare and didn’t happen until she was about 2.

I know there are other parents who haven’t had a break at all for years and as sweet as that is, I can’t imagine that for myself. I need to have some me time and I honestly believe we all do. That includes our beautiful children. They need a break from us as much as we do from them. Imagine being around someone all day every day and how your mood begins to change. We aren’t meant to be in the same persons presence constantly and not expected to lose our cool (either parties) now and again. Or imagine the missed experience from being around other people and engaging in their activities. I know my in-laws do things entirely different from what we do day in-day out, so for my daughter to be able to see another perspective of how someone runs their day, is very educational. It’s also, another reason how I came to terms on putting my LO in daycare. The relationships and the interactions she is able to have outside of her home is something that, I believe, is necessary for her social development. Unfortunately, I could do better with getting out for play dates, which is in the works. If you don’t have children, herding cats is the best example of trying to getting out of the house for activities sometimes. I struggle with this. I’m sure I’ve written about this before, on how I don’t like to disrupt the schedule of my daughter, as in nap times. And my little girl likes to dawdle and I try not to rush her out of the door to get to where we plan on going, but sometimes it happens and it feels like I’m herding a kitten.

Anyway, back to my upcoming weekend… My best friend is getting married in September, and we are driving to her hometown, population 3200. This is bigger than the town I grew up in (about 800 people), which doesn’t really matter, I’m just looking forward to actually spending time with her since she has been super busy this summer. Her family lives on a farm and her mom has an amazing garden (I’ll post pictures soon). I’m excited to see where she grew up and meet her friends from her younger days. One of her friends is having a bachelorette party, so it may get a little bit crazy. I’m a little nervous that when I cut loose, that my diet is going to go down the tubes, but I’m going to try and not worry about it and do the best I can and when I get home, get back to what I know makes me feel great- whole foods, no sugar, intermittent fasting, eating when I’m hungry and CHEWING my food 🙂

Plan on how to get through the weekend without messing up my health:

  1. Remembering, it’s 3 days, and I’m not going to die if I splurge a bit. Actually, not worring about this and just going with the flow is much healthier than stressing out about how my diet is.
  2. Bring my own snacks. My snack bag will consist of Majestic Garlic dip, carrot sticks, sweet potato chips, sunflower/pumpkin seeds, berries, Raw Chocolate bar, some protein bars or
  3. Facetime each day with my family, if I can (they are maybe going camping for the weekend so might not have service)
Leave a Reply

