Let’s get creative!

My best friend and soul sister is getting married in less than two months!! We may have not gone to grade school together, or even college, but I was lucky enough to meet her at work when she did her internship over 4 years ago. From the start, she was a ray of sunshine and such a fun person to be around. She has finally found a man that deserves her as a partner and I’m thrilled! A couple of weeks ago, we went back to her family’s home 5 hours away to attend her bridal shower. During our friendship I’ve heard much about her hometown and was so excited to finally go see it!

Before we left though, I was having a hard time figuring out what I wanted to do for her bridal shower gift. In the past, I have made many creative and home made gifts for friends and my husband, but lately I just don’t get that anymore. With us adopting, we are trying to save as much as we can so I decided instead of spending money on a gift that she may or may not use, I would create something.

I looked up some ideas on Pinterest- Love this app! And I finally decided, after looking for hours, what I wanted to make. Thankfully, my husband has a ton of wood out in his garage from previous projects on the house so I just went to pick one out. I wrote out the words on the board with pencil, free hand- one skill I am very proud of, thank you very much. I hadn’t planned on making the whole gift that night, but once I got into it I just couldn’t stop. I started it around 7:30 and finally went to bed around 11, taking breaks to get my daughter to sleep and water and bathroom breaks. While I painted, I put on old episodes of The Office and just got into the groove. I couldn’t help but finish it. Once I got to a certain point, I decided I wanted to present the gift to my friend before we left so that she could see it.

I’m so glad that I decided to stay up and finish it! She said she loved it! All I have to do is finish the bracket for it, which will be done this week. My husband and one of our other art friends have decided to make it a bi monthly tradition to get together to work on art, and after our daughter is asleep I will be partaking in this as well. I realized how much this activity inspires and motivates me. Something we all need is to be inspired!

Creating food inspires me as well, here’s a yummy recipe of the week! AIP Salsa! My husband even likes it 🙂

So…what inspires you? What gives your heart wings?? I’d love to hear all about it!

Leave a Reply

