“So powerful is the light of unity that it can illuminate the whole earth.” -Baha’u’llah

I am someone who avoids watching the news and reading the paper. Every time that I do, I’m so distraught on how 99% of it is all horrible. Either people treating each other awful or some politician or leader disappointing their constituents. Why can’t we focus 99% of the news on positive stories or events. I know the answer… fear. Keep the masses in fear then the less likely we will join together to rise above. Gratefulness and positivity lead to amazing things. It give us hope! Okay, so maybe 99% positive new is a little high, I do think we need to have some information regarding the bad things that are going on that need to be changed, but the problem is, with continual negative happenings lead to anger, resentment, and division.

Yesterday at work, I met a man who had a blister on his left leg, which led to gangrene then ultimately he lost his leg and almost his life. Was he super negative? Bitter? Mad? Not at all! He was the exact opposite. He was extremely thankful. He thanked me multiple times for being so nice and taking care of him and he prayed that I had an abundant life and he doesn’t know anything about me other than my name and that I have a family. What an inspiring man!

Today, I was able to see the beauty in two strangers. During my lunch break, I ran a couple of errands. I hit up the post office to drop off some stuff I needed to mail back (so disappointing when you find a cute pair of shoes, only to put them on and they are too narrow in the toes, read more about why that is important here). Right in the parking lot I went to put my receipt back in my wallet when it slipped and almost all of the contents fell to the ground, which included money and other receipts and business cards, etc. Shortly after I started scrambling to at least get the cash before the wind picked up, a man came by and started helping me clean up and stated “good thing it isn’t windy today!” and then less than a minute after a girl about 12 ran up to help me as well. I thanked them during and after our clean up.

Then, this thought came to me. I am going to start a Positive Happenings group on Facebook. This will be open to anyone who would like to post something that made their day or something that might have happened to someone they know or a complete stranger. Lets lift each other up and drag us out of this negativity.

I also, googled good news and came up with a list of other websites that focus on positivity in news. Here are a few that I found…

https://www.facebook.com/thegoodnewsnetwork/?fref=ts&ref=br_tf
https://happynews.com/
http://www.huffingtonpost.com/section/good-news

Good News, Inspiring, Positive Stories

http://www.dailygood.org/

So, instead of a recipe this week, I’m posing a challenge. Instead of cooking for just you, throw an invite to all your loved ones to get together for Stone Soup or Stone Tacos. If you haven’t heard of that, basically you pick a meal and then each of the attendees bring over one item to make the dinner. I got this idea from choir practice at my church. What a wonderful way to get together and unify! And don’t forget, if you’re on Facebook, join the Positive Happenings group. If you don’t have Facebook, you’re welcome to just comment below on anything that you have encountered personally or through someone else’s story about good things!

Blessings to you and yours! We are all one!

 

Leave a Reply

