Hello friend

Dear autumn, my feelings for you are of both love and sadness (I decided hate was too strong of a word to describe you). We meet yet again, and though Im not quite prepared for your visit again, here we are.

It’s a mixed bag of feelings when this time of year rears its head again. Each year seems that it comes faster than the previous year. Spring and summer are gone in a flash.

On one end of the spectrum, fall brings the feeling of sadness. Sadness for the realization that the bitter cold will soon be here, and having to leav extra early in case the weather has left the roads less safe if driven at the regular speed limit. The lack of fresh vegetables from our garden or that of other local farmers and my least favorite, the Christmas season and its consumerism. Plus, it means no more camping, and quick trips to the park on my bicycle and the warm summer heat. I could go on but I digress because there are so many reasons why I think autumn rocks and, winter also for that matter. I do love autumn for some of the reasons I listed above and what a better way to celebrate than to ring One of excited,met for

-all of the beautiful colors

-warm foods

-holiday gatherings around the corner and of course two of my favorites, Halloween and thanksgiving

-not feeling guilty curling up to read a good book or movie

-snow

-baking

One of the best things that is happening this first weekend of fall and best way to celebrate the equinox is my best friends wedding tomorrow! She’s been with her soon to be husband for over two years now and will start their new life together and I’m so excited to see what their future holds. I hope the weather holds out for them tomorrow! I’m happy to report after driving through the torrential down pour of rain on the interstate home tonight I made it home. For tomorrow, I plan on wearing leggings under my bridesmaid dress and am glad they are doing a short ceremony in case it’s super cold. After the festivities on Sunday, we are going to finish the celebration in the morning by taking a family drive through spearfish canyon. Breathing in the beauty of autumn and capturing the changing of colors.

To ring in the fall weather, I decided to steam fry some fruit for my daughters morning snack.

Hope you are with me on embracing the beauty of fall and repressing what the soon winter will hold.

Sautéed Fall Apples

2 Apples, cored and sliced (organic and local, fresh if possible)
1TBLS coconut oil
1-2 tsp cinnamon
1/2 tsp 5 spice herbs
2 tsp water
Handful of blueberries
2 leaves of kale, de-stemmed and chopped
Sprinkle of salt

Place all ingredients except blueberries and kale in small pan on medium heat and cover until reached desired texture. (I like mine cooked but still a little crunchy) add blueberries and cook for another 2 minutes. Add kale last and cook until soft but still green. Add salt.

Great to eat as is, or makes a great topping for ice cream, French toast, or crepes. You can also, top with chopped nuts and seeds and more!

Leave a Reply

