9 tips to cut the sugar

I don’t know about you, but my Christmas was filled with too much sugar! We had an assortment of vegan chocolate that I bought at the Breadroot Co-op. I couldn’t believe the choices they had there and I got so excited and bought too much. And although I barely indulge in sugary treats I thought, what the heck… it’s Christmas! Not only that, but I made puppy chow, albeit it was a lot healthier and I made sure there was less sugar, I still binged on the sweets and the aftermath was not fun.

Symptoms from the sugar fest:

  1. fatigue
  2. decreased immune system
  3. increased cravings
  4. weight gain
  5. dry skin
  6. moody
  7. digestion issues

As soon as the holiday weekend was over, I knew what I needed to do. Get out the junk and keep it out and increase my fermented foods and probiotics and increase veggies. I know that I overloaded my body, especially my pancreas and liver, so a nice gentle way to health them is to also cut out most to all meat. I’m not saying meat is bad and for some, it works best to eat no meat at all. I know, my body works best by eating clean meats, but for the purpose of fast healing, I cut all animal proteins out of my meals to improve digestion, which will allow to rid my body of the waste faster because digesting animal proteins takes a lot more energy and work to digest in comparing to other whole foods.

I know it’s normal for the holiday season to get these sugary binges, so here are my 9 tips to getting back to healthy eating and feeling great!

  1. Throw out the junk and keep it out- this means everything that you know isn’t serving your body. Look for whole foods like fresh veggies, fruits, whole grains, etc.
  2. Listen to your body- feeling hungry? Try drinking some water and wait 30 minutes. If after that time you still feel hungry, then grab some nourishing food.
  3. Have healthy foods/snacks ready to go for ease.
  4. Increase the fat and fiber- when I say fat, this means healthy fat like coconut oil, avocados, ghee, lard, etc and steer clear from fried foods (trans-fats) or canola oil or other highly processed oils. Fiber will be your fruits and veggies and whole grains. These two things will keep you feeling satisfied longer.
  5. Add in probiotics and fermented foods to improve digestion and boost the immune system.
  6. Chew your food slow and mindful. This will allow your body to receive the signal that it is no longer hungry. (Takes about 20 minutes to send this message to your brain, so the slower you eat, the better. Also means that if you finish your plate, you should wait 20 minutes before you fill it up again.)
  7. Fill your plate with half veggies, 1/4 protein, add some healthy fats and a bit of sea salt. All of this is important to help absorb nutrients from your foods.
  8. Get busy- keeping yourself occupied will keep your mind busy and not thinking of what my still be hiding in your home for sweets.
  9. Get good sleep– Believe it or not, sleep deprivation (less than 7 hours of sleep) will negatively impact how we eat.

Anyone else suffering the effects of sugar since the holidays? What are you tips and tricks to getting back on track?

Leave a Reply

