Gotta have the best for my loved ones…

It was one of my best friends birthday this week and with a kiddo, we decided to stay low key to help her celebrate her by cooking her a delicious meal along with one of her favorite desserts, Coconut Cream Pie. It’s a dessert I have never made before, but I searched through Pinterest and found a gluten-free, vegan version so we could all enjoy it. The recipe seemed simple enough and to cut down on fructose intake I decided to alter the recipe from coconut sugar to brown rice syrup. That was mistake number one because the taste was a bit off. The second mistake I made, was with the coconut whipped cream. I didn’t realize the importance of that the coconut milk, plus the mixing dish needed to be chilled so it turned out as a combination of wet/chunky coconut cream. The third mistake was when I combined this goopy mess into the custard/pudding mixture too soon. I set it in the fridge to see if it would firm up and to my disappointment it was way too runny. Of course, this wasn’t good enough. I needed to make sure her birthday dessert was perfect! She’s my best buddy and I couldn’t settle for a crappy version of her favorite treat!

So, when I woke up in the middle of the night and couldn’t get back to sleep I threw on my blue light blocking glasses and decided to look up another recipe quick to see if I could find another one. I stumbled on a custard version of Coconut Cream Custard,  which called for eggs and decided to try again. This time, I stuck to the directions and am happy to report that we all loved the pie! It tasted like a coconut crème brûlée, which we topped with a ready made coconut whipped cream by So Delicious. It was a bit too sweet for me but my friend thought it was perfect! The first version was put in the freezer to await it’s fate…  maybe it will become part of a smoothie someday in the near future or maybe I will cut it up and throw on some coconut whipped cream and see if that works. All I know, is that for a friend or family’s dessert, I will stick to the recipe so that I’m not worried about serving a gross meal.

Leave a Reply

