Girls day? Yes, please!

I’m so excited! My mom is coming for a visit tonight for the weekend and we are having a much needed girls day! You need to take care of yourself before you can expect to take care of anyone else, especially when it’s 24/7 care like parenthood or the like. Recently, my self care has taken a back slide and it has become apparent with raising my voice and sometimes yelling at my daughter, which I do not condone or am okay with since we have decided to follow a gentle approach to parenting. Therefore, I’ve been reading more parenting books like “The Conscious Parent” and “Raising Your Spirited Child.” Both books are super enlightening, but most importantly, they are very helpful with being a better parent and really makes sense of what is going on with not only the child, but really why it is that we react in an undesirable manner to our children when they are unable to effectively handle their big feelings.

One of the things that kept coming up is self care and so it was the perfect opportunity for this since my mom is visiting. Tomorrow, we will enjoy a nice breakfast together with my daughter, drop her off at her sitters, second hand shopping, an hour massage, lunch, and a movie. Later, we will have a family dinner and maybe some board games. Sounds like a great day to me! Plus, my husband and I will be getting a date night! Yay!

Are you in need of some self love? What does your perfect day look like.

Leave a Reply

