Doing the best I can to be a great mom

Recently, I have been researching energy profiling and raising a spirited child from a woman named Carol Tuttle and Mary Sheedy Kurcinka. With this research I have found that my daughter needs more socialization to allow her spirit to thrive, being that she is more of an extrovert than I am. She receives her energy by being around other people, while I am easily drained by her high spirited energy. Being an introvert, I recharge my battery by having some alone time and then I’m good to go again. It’s important to know your kiddos energy profile and intensity and so forth, so that you can relate to them if they differ from yours. The two authors I mentioned above, along with Janet Lansbury, are some extremely helpful and influential authors to help parents be amazing parents to our children so that they grow up healthy in mind, body, and spirit.

My little one is 3 1/2 and has always been in small care centers because I thought this would be best for her by allowing her more one-on-one attention. I’m more of an introvert so we don’t get out much and when we do, not many of my friends have kids so she’s usually the only kiddo around. With this newfound information, I have been trying to branch out more to seek out more socialization for her. I’m finding it pretty difficult. Whenever we go to the park or the like, all the other kids are either gone or have a few friends they’re playing with already. Since she’s not used to big group interactions with children, I thought maybe I should get her into a pre-school just to meet some other kids and to experience working with more than one or two kids. I’m coming up short in this area as well. A lot of the preschools in my area are 5 days a week, which I’d rather start slow and do 2 or 3 days a week.

I’m starting to go through my Facebook groups to see if there are any parents who would like to meet up, but being an introvert makes me a bit nervous. I’ve tried this before and it never seemed to pan out. Plus, the way I parent and our diet is typically different than the norm, which makes me nervous about also. I want a village to live in, which we are working on, but it couldn’t seem to come fast enough. Until then, I will just join more groups around the area to help support her needs, and really my needs too. It’s important for me to meet more people who are parents, and then recharge when I get home.

Have you discovered your kids energy, intensity, social needs? Have you been supportive of it? Was it difficult or did you implement the needed changes and see a change?

Best Parenting books I recommend (so far):

  1. Raising Your Spirited Child, Third Edition: A Guide for Parents Whose Child Is More Intense, Sensitive, Perceptive, Persistent, and Energetic 
  2. It’s OK Not to Share and Other Renegade Rules for Raising Competent and Compassionate Kids
  3. Kids, Parents, and Power Struggles: Winning for a Lifetime
  4. The Conscious Parent: Transforming Ourselves, Empowering Our Children
  5. No Bad Kids: Toddler Discipline Without Shame
  6. The Child Whisperer, The Ultimate Handbook for Raising Happy, Successful, and Cooperative Children

Some of these authors, also have free podcasts! If you don’t have the time for reading and want to listen to great advice while in the car or making dinner, this is another great option!

Leave a Reply

