damn sugar! what a love/hate relationship… No Sugar Ice Cream recipe

Last year, I decided to cut added sugars (for the most part) out of my diet. Every once in a while, I would splurge on a treat and then I’d be good for a while. I read books from authors like Sarah Wilson and David Gillespie and stuck with brown rice syrup, but mostly stevia to sweeten homemade treats I made. My husband didn’t really appreciate these treats, but it worked for me and my kiddo.

Then, December rolled around and my mom came to visit for the holiday and I kind of went berserk on sugar. I got pregnant shortly after, and ever since it has been a downward spiral into my sugar addiction. (This kid is definitely his fathers’) I won’t compromise my diet in terms of eating anything that isn’t organic/non-GMO, especially since I’m pregnant. I also, won’t and haven’t eaten any dairy (okay, I ate organic dairy a couple of times on some pizza in my first trimester) or wheat. However, the sugar that I have been ingesting is getting out of hand. My energy is plummeting, my skin is starting to show signs of too much, my heartburn is annoying, and worse of all, my daughter is eating more sugar and my unborn baby is developing its’ taste buds, so I’m beginning to influence his taste for sugar…

The first step to changing a habit, is admitting the problem. Well I’m admitting it! And I’m here to say that I’m going to change it! I’m not going to quit cold turkey, because that never is a good plan for me. Instead, I’m going to slowly cut out sugar from my diet and pick a day to implement my no added sugar/fructose diet, which means I’ll still eat fruit. May 29 will be the official day I will stop eating anything with added sugar. From now until then, I will not buy any more sugary treats to bring into the home, I will not make any more desserts to have in the house, I will consume small amounts of what we have left in the house and will buy fruit to replace any cravings I will have and I will increase healthy fats into my diet to fend of cravings, as well (coconut oil/butter, avocado, nuts/seeds, and clean animal fats). And boy, I know that I’ll have cravings!

Thankfully, I have been here before, and I know how to get back to a good place. It’s just taking the steps and implementation. Plus, support, which I’m going to have from my husband and mom. Improved energy, better skin and healthier me and my family… here I come!!

How’s your relationship with sugar? Do you notice a difference when you cut sugar out of your diet? Start the journey with me, if you haven’t already, and let me know how it’s going. What are you tricks?

Healthy Ice Cream:

1 can full fat coconut milk (chilled in refrigerator overnight)
1 cup frozen berries of choice
dash of salt
1/2 tsp. vanilla
Green powdered stevia to taste

Blend all ingredients until smooth

Here’s an article with 11 reasons why to quit sugar.

Leave a Reply

