My circle of loves is vast and strong

I’m continually surprised at all the love and support we receive from family and friends. I don’t know why this surprises me, but I am so grateful for each and everyone in my circle! Last weekend, my mom and sister organized a baby shower for me. I wasn’t expecting much since this is our second and last baby. We had such a great turn out and were spoiled with gifts for this little guy who is due in just a little less than two weeks. My husband is convinced that he will make his appearance on Labor Day, which I’m hoping doesn’t happen since our photographer/videographer, his mom, is supposed to be visiting friends across the state for the weekend.

At the baby shower, we did what is called a bead ceremony and a few games. The bead ceremony is when each guest brings a bead and a blessing or words of encouragement to help during labor. Traditionally, it’s a women only event, but I was lucky enough to have a few male friends there as well. After you collect all of the beads you can use them to make them into a bracelet or a necklace and use that as a focal point during birth. I decided I would wait to read the blessings/words of encouragement at the birth and leave them a surprise for now. My lovely sister, who was at my first birth of my daughter, told me hers and her mom told me hers as well, but the rest I’m leaving a surprise.

I’m not really nervous for the birth at all, I just thought having something different for a baby shower that my mom insisted on throwing for me would be fun. Having the special beads makes for a beautiful keepsake and it inspired my toddler to get creative and improve her eye-hand coordination by making a bracelet of her own.

Have you ever been to a bead ceremony? Or another non-traditional baby shower? Tell me your thoughts and experiences!

 

Leave a Reply

