This mamas lid was about to blow… plus energy bars recipe

I’m 3 weeks postpartum and man it’s been a doozy! First, baby freaked out the pediatrician because of the amount of weight lost in the first 24 hours, which led to long nights of pumping and syringe feedings. Then, my little brother visited and my husband got sick. Shortly after baby got sick, which I blame on syringe feeding and then I got sick!

I feel like when a momma strictly breastfeeds we are expected to have the baby attached to our hip for the first few months because they eat so frequently. Yesterday was a nightmare though and I am now thinking differently.

My help didn’t show up two days in a row and with my cold, I felt like a garbage truck took a dump on me and ran me over multiple times on top of being exhausted. I planned on taking a bath and nap once my help got here, but since that didn’t happen I got to hang out with a sick, but happy sleeping baby and a tantruming, violent toddler.

Other than the few days that we were syringe feeding the baby, I have been up every 45minutes to 3 hours nursing, burping, changing diapers, and then possibly nursing and burping again before I fell back asleep. Which is fine because my husband is back at work and he needs sleep and he helps with our toddler.

My husband tends to stay up until 10-11pm so I decided to hand over the baby and toddler, while I went to bed at 630 last night. I had a bath before we ate dinner and then I fed baby and went to bed. I woke up about an hour later to go to the bathroom and shortly after baby was hungry. I fed him and when I tried to set him down next to me to sleep he woke up shortly after. Usually we cuddle but I sweated out from my cold that I didn’t want him to get too warm. So hubby took baby again and dealt with irritable toddler until 1130 when he was ready to nurse again.

WOW! I feel like a million bucks compared to the day before! I’m still sick, but I’m not emotional and exhausted.

From here on I’m going to hand off baby to my husband so I can get more sleep for a while. Just because I breastfeed doesn’t and should mean I have to sacrifice so much sleep. I have a wonderful husband that will help. I just need to ask. Also, since nursing is going so well, I was told that we can start bottle feeding at 4 weeks, which is next week! This means I can get around one night feeding for a longer stretch of sleep than I’m used to! No more 2 or 3 hour stretch! I might be able to get a 4 or 5 hours in a row if I go to sleep early enough!

Energy Bars
1 c gluten free rolled oats
1/3 c coconut pecan butter (see below)
1/2 c cacao nibs
1/2 c ground flax seed
1/3 cup honey or brown rice syrup
1 tsp vanilla
Dash of salt

Mix everything together and press into 8×8 glass dish. Place in refrigerator until set. Cut into desired size squares. Store in fridge.

For coconut pecan butter place 1/2 c shredded coconut into food processor. Run on high until smooth consistency. You’ll have to scrap the sides a few times. Next add 1 cup pecans and run until smooth, scraping down the sides if needed.IMG_0702

Leave a Reply

