Just take it all in

This week, I wanted to write about my toddler. She became a big sister a month ago and I’ve been excited for a long time to see her in this role. She absolutely loves her little brother and has been so helpful and supportive during this time. I don’t expect her to help out she just volunteers.
We waited to have our second baby and I’m glad we did because she understands that we have to devote time to her brother now and she knows we love her and her brother the same. Don’t get me wrong, she’s had some tough days with this big transition, but all in all she’s doing amazing.
I can’t believe she is already 4 in a few days! After having another baby, it really brought back the memories of my postpartum time and all of the time we have had together as an only child.
It really hammers in the importance of slowing down when you have kids. Even now, I catch myself saying to her, “not now I have to finish doing this.” Which is usually cleaning in some fashion. I wish I was better at saying screw it. The dishes will get done eventually and just play with her. I definitely have days when I’m better and there are days when the kitchen, mainly, is driving me nuts and I have to get it cleaned before it stresses me out. I think being aware of it helps. So here are some ways I’m slowing down and living more in the now for my family.

IMG_06911. Receiving more help from friends and family. Our family recently got the lingering cold that has made its rounds in the area I live so I haven’t been asking for as much help because I don’t want to expose anyone to this. I did have a friend make me some elderberry syrup for us at her home.
2. I’m making more time for self-care because if I’m not taken care of my whole family suffers. Lately, this has been a lot of essential oil baths and going to bed early and eating nice clothes on occasion compared to my tank top and sweats.
3. Putting down the phone more. I’ve gotten into the habit again of being on Facebook and being aware of this I’m able to step back more. This has allowed me to take in the quiet time around my house and appreciate when my toddler is playing. It’s so fun to watch her play and watching my baby make random faces.
4. Ditching the chores to play and laugh with my daughter and just relax and hold my newborn while trying to balance time for both.
5. Breathing and meditating. One of my friends recommended listening to yoga nidra which has really helped me get some more rest. Here’s one of my favorites. http://www.yoganidranetwork.org/mp3/magali
6. When I do cook, it’s been in bigger quantities to make sure we don’t have to cook as often.
Kids aren’t little for long so remember to soak up all the time you have with them but remember to take care of yourself too.

I’m so proud of the little girl my daughter has become and I’m excited to see what will come for her in the future and for our little boy, as well.

Leave a Reply

